Leadership Team

Lead Pastor: Chris Hinterman


contact:  chris.tcjourney@gmail.com 

Chris came to the Journey in August of 2009. He and his wife, Marcia, have three children and eleven grandchildren. “We love living in Traverse City and being part of a church that has a shared love of Christ and demonstrating His love in practical ways.”



Assistant Pastor:  Molly VanZandt


Contact:  pastormolly.journey@gmail.com 


Molly is the Spiritual Formation's Director (Children through Adults) and leads the Prayer Ministry here at The Journey.  She also  has a big heart for helping people through compassion ministries. Pastor Molly, her husband Larry, and sons Zorran & Mekhi are long-time residents of Traverse City.  (Their adult daughters and two grandchildren live in Michigan.)


Assistant Pastor:  Lyle Deeren


contact:  lyle.deeren@gmail.com  


Lyle has a passion for Outreach and Men's Ministry, along with pastoral care and preaching.  Pastor Lyle and his wife Leanne form the 'Deeren Home Team' at Real Estate One.  The Deerens and their 2 kids, Sierra & Shawn, are long-time residents of Traverse City.  


Youth Pastor:  Roger Sian


contact: rmsian67@gmail.com 


Roger, who also works at VanDrie Furniture, and his family joined us at The Journey in 2013.  He and his wife Michele have 3 kids: Hannah, Jacob, & Rebekah.  Roger enjoys working with teens, desiring to see them develop a deeper relationship with the Lord. 

Worship Leader:  Leanne Deerin


contact: leanne.deeren@hotmail.com 


Leanne, along with her husband Lyle and two teens Sierra & Shawn, are long-time residents of Traverse City. Having grown up in a Christian home, Leanne's love for the Lord and her love for music show as she leads us in worship each week!



Office Manager: Marcia Hinterman


contact: office.tcjourney@gmail.com


Marcia is very likely the first person to be encountered when connecting with the Journey office.  Her friendly demeanor will make you feel at home right away.  She  keeps the whole Journey team organized and running smoothly.


Administrative Board:

         Rod Kemp - Vice Chairman

       Larry VanZandt - Treasurer

       Michele Sian - Secretary

       Jeannie Mitchell - Member at Large

       Diane Ranke - Member at Large

       Jon Torbet - Member at Large




        Greg Fasel

       Lyle Deeren

       Dan Cronin